Printable version of guide

Uses of meeting rooms

Meeting rooms for courses should be setup through Learn.UQ (Blackboard) and meeting rooms for other purposes such as staff meetings, interview, research collaboration should be created by visiting uq.edu.au/connectportal (refer Virtual Meetings tool page).

Virtual classroom

This is when the meeting room is setup for use for online lectures or tutorials. Students can only access the room when the instructor (host) is present.

Group meeting room

This is when the meeting room is setup for student collaborative work. Students can access to the room at any time and are given the role of Presenter. Presenters can then upload resources, display documents, share screens and use the whiteboard).

Creating a meeting

  • From the Control Panel select Course Tools > Adobe Connect Pro.
  • Click the New Meeting button.

Enter meeting details

  • Enter details for the new meeting
  • Name: Use a descriptive name for the meeting room.
    e.g. Introduction to Pharmacy
  • Description: Give further information on how the meeting room will be used.
  • Custom URL: Use your course code, year, semester for the meeting room (virtual classroom) URL.
    e.g. PHRM1012-2014S1
    If you need more than one room, add a hyphen and a descriptive name at the end.
    e.g. PHRM1012-2014S1-project

Note: Meeting rooms that are named without using the course code will automatically be deleted each night.

  • Access:
    • Only registered users and accepted guests may enter the room: This is the recommended access method option for virtual classrooms. Students will be able to access sessions using a link from your Blackboard course. Guest lectures/participants will be able to access the room using a URL link and after being approved by the meeting host (instructor) (refer to Guest login).
    • Anyone who has the URL can enter the room: This is the recommended access method option for group meeting rooms. Students will be able to access to room at any time. For security reasons it is recommended that students still access the room using a link from your Blackboard course.
  • Meeting date and time: This setting only shows the date when your meeting room was set up. This setting has no effect on when your meeting room (virtual classroom) can be used.
  • Meeting duration (hours:minutes): This setting has no effect on the length of time your meeting room (virtual classroom) can be used for.

Select meeting participants

In your meeting room (virtual classroom) students would normally be set with the role Audience and other teaching staff with the role Presenter. Course Co-ordinators (or whoever needs to be able to charge the layout of rooms) would be set with the role of Host. The person who sets up the room is also automatically given the role of Host.

Note: For group meeting rooms you can change a setting in the actual room so students are promoted to the role of Presenter on entry. They can then upload resources, display document, share screens and use the whiteboard.

  • Select the role Audience from Set Role drop down list.
  • Select the student names in the list on the left. (Click on the first student name, hold down the Shift key and click on the last student name.)

  • Click the Arrow right button to move the students to the list on the right.

  • If needed repeat the above steps to add Presenters and Hosts.
  • Click on the  (Submit) button.
  • Your meeting room is now created.
  • Click the OK button in the bottom right hand corner.

View, edit or delete meeting rooms

  • Click on the double arrow to the right of meeting name.
    • Select View Information from the drop down menu, if you need to view the meeting room settings (including the URL).
    • Select Edit from the drop down menu, if you need to change the meeting room settings.
    • Select Delete from the drop down menu, if you need to delete the meeting room.

Creating a meeting room link for students

A meeting room link can be added to the Course Menu or a content area (i.e. Learning Resources).

Course Menu link

  • Click on the plus button.
  • Select Tool Link from the drop down menu.

  • Enter the title in the Name textbox.
  • Select Adobe Connect Pro from the Type drop down list.
  • Check the Available to Users checkbox.
  • Click on the Submit button.

  • Hover over the tool link.
  • Click and drag the double arrow to the left of the Tool Link to the required position.

Content area link

  • Click on the Click on the Tools button.
  • Select More Tools > Adobe Connect Pro from the drop down list.

Link Information

  • Enter a description title for the link in the Link Name textbox.
  • Enter instructions in the textbox.

Standard Options

  • Optionally, if you do not want students to access the meeting room yet, select the No Available radio button.
  • Optionally, if you want to know how many times the meeting link is accessed, select the Track Number of Views radio button.
  • Optionally, set Date and Time Restrictions: i.e. The course content could be organised into weekly learning modules that are display progressive over the semester at the relevant time.
    • If required, select the Display After checkbox and enter the date using the  Date Selection Calendar and enter the time using the Time Selection Menu.
    • If required, select the Display Until checkbox and enter the date using the  Date Selection Calendar and enter the time using the Time Selection Menu.

  • Click on the Submit button.